ECA, AUC and AfDB launch the agriculture and food security joint thematic working group in Abidjan


From: Kazeem Biriowo, Abuja

THE United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (ECA), the African Union Commission (AUC) and the African Development Bank (AfDB), under the auspices of the Joint Secretariat Support Office (JSSO), on Monday launched the agriculture and food security joint Thematic Working Group (TWG).

The working group was launched on the margins of the Conference on Land Policy in Africa holding in Abidjan, Cote d’Ivoire.

In a statement by the ECA Communications Unit, the initiative is targeted to enhance strategic partnerships in order to accelerate Africa’s transformation.

It is as well expected to serve as a platform for information and knowledge sharing.

Josefa Leonel Correia Sacko, Commissioner for Rural Economy and Agriculture at the African Union Commission said: “By 2025, if we can have 70% of ending the hunger on the continent, it will be a great thing”, and added that joint thematic working group that is bringing together ECA, AfDB and AU” is the best way forward to really achieve our objectives.”

For his part, Stephen Karingi, Director, Regional Integration Division at ECA, lauded the initiative and linked to the focus area on the African Continental Free Trade Area noting, “We can’t have a successful AfCFTA without agriculture and food security”.

The Thematic Working Group for agriculture and food security would focus its work mainly on supporting African countries and regional economic commissions (RECs) to rollout the common Africa Agro-Parks (CAAPS) and Staple Agro-industrial processing zones (SAPZs) initiatives.

The thematic working group will focus on areas

  • Coordination of seed systems development
  • Special Agro-Industrial processing zones and Common African Agro-Parks
  • Food Safety laboratories and Food Safety Agency
  • Access to Agricultural mechanization services for Women
  • African Land Policy Reform.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *