NOSDRA, NBMA Four others Gets New Boards


From: AgroNature Admin

The Minister of State for Environment, Alh. Ibrahim Jibril on Friday inaugurated new board of the National Oil Spill Detection and Response Agency (NOSDRA).

Also inaugurated were boards of National Biosafety Management Agency (NBMA), National Park Service (NPS), Forestry Research Institute on Nigeria (FRIN), National Agency for Great Green Wall (NAGGW) and National Environmental Standards and Regulations Enforcement Agency (NESREA).

Speaking at the inauguration at the conference room of the Agricultural Research Council of Nigeria, Abuja, the Minister advised the agencies to remain committed to their constitutional obligations for the benefit of protecting the nation’s environment.

He tasked NOSDRA to sanction oil companies flouting the environmental law.

Jibril, who emphasised need to protect the ecosystem for better healthy living and future generation directed the newly inaugurated board members to partner with management of the agency to achieve mandates of the respective agencies.

He advised the board members to stay away from any form of malpractice that could jeopardize national interest.

While inaugurating the boards, as authorised by the Presidency, he canvassed their supports in implementing various treaties signed by the country at international conferences.

Spraking on the Nigerian National Parks, he lamented that the Parks are not well protected thus need for the creation of the National Park service, adding that it was important for the board to support the vision.

Meanwhile, Ben Owaobase was appointed board Chairman of the NPS while Mr. Joko Pelumi, Surveyor General of the Federation, NESREA, Nigeria Conservation are board members.

NOSDRA has Sen. Ayo Akinyedure as the board chairman while represrntatives from Ministry of Communication, Aviation, Federal Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development (FMARD), and National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA) were among the board members.

Bar. Iyiola Oladokun was appointed NESREA Board Chairman while Mr. Peter Ako, Mr. Aleshinloye, SON, MAN, were board members.

NAGGW has Bar. Gbadegesin Adedeji as the board chairman while Mr. Tosin Ayoade, Mr. Ayuba Bello, Mrs. Salome Jalome, Abubakar Gada, FMENV, Federal Ministry of Sport, Federal Ministry of Water Resources, FMARD, Permanent Secretary, Ecological Firm and Director General NAGGW were board members.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *